Hi All. Newby Question

cgp303

Hi All

Im returning to flight simming after a few years. I purchased msfs2020 recently. Im very happy with it, but want to upgrade my system a little. Im not looking for 4K ultra high def realism here, but smooth flight and some attractive nicely rendered landscapes at 1080 would be wonderful. My current system is ok, but struggles at times.

Here is my current hardware set up.

AMD Ryzen 5 3600X

16 GB Ram

Radeon RX580 GPU

Windows 10

Am I right in thinking that Flight Sims, as well as being very GPU intensive are also very CPU intensive too?

Im wondering what performance boost I might see if I bought myself a new GPU? Perhaps a AMD 6600 XT? And upping my Ram to 32GB? Or would I be better upgrading my CPU first?

Any advice/experience would be greatly appreciated.

:)

• 11 months later...

I am also new to this world. I have 11 hours real fly time on my path to getting becoming a pilot, getting reasonable at circuits and landing. Id like to use a Sim for practice but I find flying in MSFS very different and difficult, especially for landings. I'm using a 2 year old laptop with a Logitech joystick. Happy to spend some dollars if it'll help. Will better hardware and peripherals help much with control, I'm not particularly concerned about graphics resolution, though I think 3 screens would help. 

Any suggestions and recommendations would be very much appreciated. Happy New Year

• Founder

Though others may disagree, I don't think MSFS will help a lot with your real world primary training. In learning basic flying skills a lot depends on the "feel" of the aircraft, something you really cannot simulate. The sim will help you get familiar with aircraft systems, avionics, navigation and things like that but first you need to master the basics of controlling the aircraft.

• Like 2