FSX DX9 issues with RX 5700 XT GPU

Hi, I just upgraded my gpy from an RX 590 to an RX 5700XT (using AMD driver version 20.2.2) and now fsx won't run in the normal DX9 mode. When I click to run a mission or any free flight, screen turns black and it just hangs there. I can still here the theme music from the menu screen. After messing around I was able to get it to run only if I select "preview DX10" mode. I just started playing again after I recently purchased FSX Steam Edition. The DX10 mode is too glitchy for me to play regularly. Anyone know why fsx won't run with DX9 and if there's a way to fix this? I'd really appreciate any help. Thanks.

I guess you have Windows 10. From there, you have 2 options:

- Go back to DX9. The next time you get the black screen, press Alt+Enter. It will take you to windowed mode. Fullscreen mode in Windows 10 is just too buggy. That's why LM doesn't offer it for P3D.

- If you insist with DX10, purchase DX10 Fixer.

In both cases, if you miss having the whole screen for FSX, install Borderless Gaming.

Best regards,

Luis Hernández 20px-Flag_of_Colombia.svg.png20px-Flag_of_Argentina.svg.png

When the settings are too high you get a black screen while the flight loads in the background. If you wait long enough the flight will eventually load. (but with stutters, as the settings are too high.).

In dx10 it still loads, because running in dx10 requires less computer resources.

Settings too high can be because you increased settings (because you were trying out setting changes when messing with dx10).

Settings too high can also be because your pc got slower.

Or because you installed high detail scenery or aircraft that take your pc extra effort to display.

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]