How much IFR could a VFR pilot do?

GhostTown

• Founder

Since this is not a question related to MSFS I've moved it to a different forum.

There is no one answer to this, as all pilots are different. VFR pilots are trained in some basic instrument skills such as tracking a VOR.

I'm a VFR only rated pilot in the real world, but have flown in actual IFR conditions (with an instructor) and did just fine. You can read about it here:

https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/entry.php?996-Flying-Computers

It depends a lot on the pilot's training. The part that gets people into trouble is having minimal or no training in using the instruments to maintain straight and level flight while being affected by the physical and visual sensations messing with your mind. Spatial disorientation is one thing that doesn't translate into a desktop flight sim very well, if at all. Do a search on graveyard spirals and "178 seconds to live".

https://blog.globalair.com/post/2014/06/15/178-Seconds-to-Live-A-Personal-Account-of-Spatial-Disorientation

https://tc.canada.ca/en/aviation/general-operating-flight-rules/better-pilot-decision-making/fatal-flight-bad-weather-178-seconds-live

Lots of simmers (non-pilots) learn about IFR, though many spend most of their time on autopilot, so I expect that many VFR only pilots do so in the sim, also. And while real world flying on the gauges, in and of itself, isn't horribly difficult and can be mastered fairly easily, real world IFR is a LOT more than just flying the gauges. There are procedures of many sorts to do, regs to follow, ATC expectations to deal with, and there are times when you are IFR that it can get rather busy in the cockpit with a lot more to do than just fly the airplane, but that still MUST be done too. Sure, autopilots help, but what if it breaks? How do you do with an amended clearance? What do you do if you lose radio communications? There's lots more, too.